10 things you should know about Google+
10 things you should know about Google+ (in no particular order)
- 852, 780, 730, 16: Number of days to reach 10mm users by Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare, G+ (courtesy: Brian Solis)
- Messages can be sent to select circle or specific individuals. With Facebook, messages are sent to “public” and can be seen by all. In Google+ message sent to a circle can be seen by that circle only.
- You can change the “share” by clicking on the “share” link of the post. Hence, if you sent a message to “public” but want to now restrict it, click on the “Share” and select whom you want to share this post with. Google+ has far more privacy features than Facebook.
- +1 in Google is similar to “Like” in facebook and “favorite” on Twitter. +1 can be used on Google web search while you are logged on. That way your name will be displayed when another person wants to see who +1 it. This is an easy way to check who in your circle +1 a site.
- +1 will display on your profile as private. You can choose to make this public for your circle to see.
- Google Hangouts is a video chat – however you can start a video chat without initially inviting anyone. You can choose who in your circle you would like to join. All people in that circle will see the hangout prompt. It is left to them whether they want to join.
- Google “Data Liberation” or “Takeout” allows you to download your data including streams, photos, videos
- Google+ Sparks (a content recommendations engine) has suggestions on what you can share with your circle.
- Mentions can be made with + or @ in front of their Google name.
- Google+ for business is not available yet. Await that release.